Articles

Greater regional autonomy is the road to UK economic recovery

Written by Kirstie Donnelly on 3 December 2020 in Opinion

Regional autonomy and a decentralised model could be the key to recovery, says Kirstie Donnelly.

TJ Newsflash: 3 December

Written by Jon Kennard on 3 December 2020 in News

Wellbeing, AI, brain training and more in this week's news round up.

What will L&D do when jobs are all automated? Pt1

Written by Steve Macaulay and David Buchanan on 2 December 2020 in Opinion

In the first part of a two-part article, David Buchanan and Steve Macaulay argue that new technologies put L&D in a new, critical position.

12 ways to move towards a greener way of working

Written by Phil Forbes on 1 December 2020 in Features

Want to start a conversation about business sustainability? Phil Forbes offers some wise advice.

Resilience is about high performance

Written by Dominic Irvine on 1 December 2020 in Opinion

Dominic Irvine provides an alternative look at the meaning of resilience. 

The Trust Hangout: An experiment in hosting deeper conversations pt1

Written by Christine Locher on 30 November 2020 in Features

Christine Locher introduces us to a recent hangout discussion on trust that featured three diverse and interesting guests.

From the archive: Teaming up for a coaching culture

Written by David Clutterbuck on 30 November 2020 in Features

One of the benefits of being a TJ subscriber is full access to our decades-long archive of content - here we look back to a piece on coaching from February 2013.

In a remote environment, data security is HR’s concern

Written by Will Howard on 30 November 2020 in Features

With the rise of remote working there is more sensitive data being handled digitally and this comes with accompanying risks. William Howard provides practical tips for HR to improve their data security practices.

Reimagining HR during times of crisis

Written by Whitney Benner on 27 November 2020 in Opinion

Whitney Benner looks how HR professionals can be well-informed to respond promptly to unexpected, catastrophic risk.

Has lockdown changed how training is being delivered?

Written by Brad Tombling on 27 November 2020 in Opinion

Brad Tombling reveals how the training industry has adapted to maximise outcomes for learners during the second wave of lockdown.

TJ Newsflash: 26 November

Written by Jon Kennard on 26 November 2020 in News

Newsflash time - tuck into a handful of stories from the worlds of learning, leadership, HR and talent from the last week. 

Revolutionise your L&D strategy with the market’s most powerful benchmarking tool

Written by Emerald Works on 26 November 2020 in Features

Emerald Works tell us why benchmarking - and the Learning Health Check - is so important.

The cause and effect of micromanagement

Written by Ed Wells on 26 November 2020 in Opinion

Ed Wells urges leaders to develop a bigger picture style of management to ensure their larger aims are not lost in the routine minutiae.

Helping employees with mental health through another lockdown

Written by Mark Newey on 25 November 2020 in Features

Mark Newey explains why re-programming our minds to understand how to look after our mental health is essential.

Lights, camera, elearning!

Written by Robert Gentle on 25 November 2020 in Opinion

Robert Gentle on what we can learn from cinema and television.

The unintended consequences of hybrid working

Written by Rob Cross on 24 November 2020 in Opinion

As we move towards more hybrid working Rob Cross warns of the possible ramifications for managing talent.

Credentialing: Setting standards and inspiring development

Written by George Rogers on 24 November 2020 in Features

George Rogers on the importance of qualifications for the coaching community.

Brexit: Act now to prevent skills gaps in the workforce

Written by Mini Setty on 23 November 2020 in Opinion

Mini Setty on why employers need to act quickly to be compliant with Brexit-related barriers to recruitment from the EU.

From the archive: Trust

Written by Ken Blanchard on 23 November 2020 in Features

One of the benefits of being a TJ subscriber is full access to our decades-long archive of content - here we look back to a piece that discusses trust from July 2013.

The last laugh: The perfect pick-me-up

Written by Stephanie Davies on 20 November 2020 in Opinion

This month Stephanie Davies encourages us to be kind.