Articles

You must remember this: Learning, apprenticeships and the Ebbinghaus Forgetting Curve

Written by Paul Freeman on 30 May 2019 in Opinion

Paul Freeman ties together apprenticeships, Ebbinghaus and evaluation for this piece for TJ.

Swapping classroom for cloud pt1

Written by Paul Norrington on 29 May 2019 in Interviews

Paul Norrington interviews one of his clients on the journey of becoming a virtual trainer.

Book extract: Strategic Doing - Ten Skills for Agile Leadership

Written by Multiple authors on 24 May 2019 in Opinion

In an extract from a new book, the authors set up the modern paradigm of L&D by looking all the way back to the industrial revolution.

TJ Newsflash: 23 May

Written by Jon Kennard on 23 May 2019 in News

It's the week's newsflash  - who doesn't think of George Costanza when you think of leadership?

Tackling the AI bias issue

Written by Tara O’Sullivan on 22 May 2019 in Opinion

Think AI will elimiate biases? Think again, says Tara O’Sullivan.

Gender pay gap reporting: An opportunity to improve your organisation’s success?

Written by Rachel Mapleston on 21 May 2019 in Features

Rachel Mapleston explores what can be learned from this year’s gender pay gap reports.

The double nature of ownership

Written by Dr. Laura Olcelli on 20 May 2019 in Opinion

What does it mean to take ownership? Dr Laura Olcelli ruminates.

More secrets from the marketing world

Written by James Barrass-Banks on 20 May 2019 in Features

James Barrass Banks continues his look at drawing L&D inspiration from the marketing world. 

The TJ Podcast: May 2019

Written by Jon Kennard on 17 May 2019 in Features

Jon, Jo and Kate talk news, webinars and magazines and Jo catches up with Paul Morgan, consultant for Diageo, in advance of our webinar on 28 May.

Mental Health Awareness Week: Being human and wellbeing conversations

Written by Sara Hope on 17 May 2019 in Features

Sara Hope rounds off our coverage of Mental Health Awareness Week.

TJ Newsflash: 16 May

Written by Jon Kennard on 16 May 2019 in News

We go listicle heavy again this week, although one of them isn't exactly great news...

Mental Health Awareness Week: Conversations that support mental health and wellbeing in virtual workers

Written by Catherine Pugh on 16 May 2019 in Features

Catherine Pugh contributes our penultimate piece for Mental Health Awareness Week. 

How blockchain could disrupt employee training

Written by Nathan Sykes on 15 May 2019 in Features

Nathan Sykes talks to TJ about the B word. No not that one - the other one.

Mental Health Awareness Week: Three practical tips to support employees to have a different conversation around mental health

Written by Sara Hope on 15 May 2019 in Features

Sara Hope continues our Mental Health Awarness Week coverage.

Mental Health Awareness Week: Why we need to remove the stigma surrounding mental health conversations in the workplace

Written by Sarah Rudder on 13 May 2019 in Features

Sarah Rudder continues our coverage of Mental Health Awareness Week.

Mental Health Awareness Week: The role of Conversational Wisdom in helping people talk about their feelings

Written by Sara Hope on 13 May 2019 in Features

To kick off our coverage of Mental Health Awareness Week, Sara Hope tells TJ that it all begins with the power of conversation.

TJ interviews: Bizness's Bruno Sola

Written by Bruno Sola on 13 May 2019 in Interviews

We talk to Bizness's Bruno Sola about digital transformation and a whole lot more...

Apprenticeship assessment? Don't leave it to chance

Written by Louise Doyle on 10 May 2019 in Opinion

Louise Doyle highlights the importance - and nuances of - assessment in apprenticeships.

How to create trusting environments

Written by Amrit Sandhar on 10 May 2019 in Features

Trust creates a better environment and better results, says Amrit Sandhar. 

TJ Newsflash: 9 May

Written by Jon Kennard on 9 May 2019 in News

Four L&D stories and a little bit of cool science. It's the week's newsflash.